Above the Level of Reproach (Part 2)


 (PART 2 of 2)

Recently, I had another example of a person noticing the difference in my life. It occurred when a coworker’s task completion was called into question. A manager called and discussed a seemingly incomplete task and blown deadline with my coworker friend. She was stunned by the accusation and started emphatically pleading her innocence. Then she yelled at the phone, all the while looking at me, “I did it! I know I did it! Hernando was here! You can even ask him and he’ll tell you I did it AND YOU KNOW HERNANDO WOULDN’T LIE!”

The manager never asked to speak with me. I suspect that’s because he knows enough of my character as to find it highly unlikely that I would lie. The fact that my coworker used me as her support in revealing truth was enough validation for him. So, he believed her, apologized to her, and dropped the subject.

I won’t say that I’ve never lied. What I will say, is that it’s rare and that I’ve regretted those times that I have. I have a conscience that still gets a hold of me. Some might say that it’s the Spirit that prods me. I’d rather tell the truth and be able to sleep at night, than be wondering when a lie is going to come back and bite me. But, that’s not the point anyway! The point of the coworker using me for validation is that she noticed a couple of things about my character that reflects Christ, truth and trustworthiness.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to sound conceited or trying to get a pat on the back. That’s not the case. I could have a doctorate degree in “Shortcomings”. I just choose not to wallow in them. So, I get back up from shortcomings and try to live a life above the level of reproach, above the accepted mediocrity, regardless of what the situation is. I want my life to bless Him, not man. Then I try to do it again, and again.

I caution my readers though, living the life above reproach only happens through prayer. Otherwise, continued efforts and failures leave a person defeated. It is through prayer that I get the glimpses I need of Him. Those glimpses, however small, sustain me, change me, and motivate me.

So back to the two questions,… Why would anyone do mediocre work for God? Why would we allow ourselves to believe that we work for mere man?

The answers,… We shouldn’t do mediocre work for God. We should do our job in a way that pleases God.

About hernandoworkplacechristian

Hernando became a Christian over 20 years ago and has been serving in ministry ever since in one way, shape, or form - although not as you might expect. See the "About" page for more info. View all posts by hernandoworkplacechristian

7 responses to “Above the Level of Reproach (Part 2)

  • Granger

    A similar idea has followed me most of my life, mainly from the one’s that don’t know me as well. When I was much younger I was called into a supervisor’s office, and they made up a joke about me having done something wrong, when they were actually about to promote me……. I of course denied the accusations that were made up, and at the same sitting I honestly gave out a ton of personal information and references to make sure they knew I wasn’t lieing. …From then own, my supervisors knew and often teased me in front of others, saying “don’t commit a robbery with Granger, he doesn’t know how to lie”…….of course it was all in fun, but I wore that personal banner for my whole career, knowing that my word meant something……………so I kind of understand your appreciation of being pointed out in that manner.

  • chad

    I appreciate the prayer part at the end, Hernando. He is the motivation behind real success.

  • Troy

    I got a chuckle at McDonald’s today. Their coffee cup says something like… “The JOY of coffee.” I thought of your message on Sunday, and I thought probably you would put McDonald’s coffee in the “temporary” category. Ha Ha.

  • hernandoworkplacechristian

    Ah yes, the joy and hope we receive through glimpses of Him carry us through the challenges. I love it! Thanks Troy!

  • Matthias

    I like the doctorate in “shortcomings.” What was your masters work in? And your bachelor’s?

    I think to not give work your best belies a poor understanding of who you’re ultimately ministering to as you work. Like the whole thing of preaching to the congregation rather than to the Lord.

Leave a comment